Mississippi's Congressional Delegation


Senator Thad Cochran (R)
Senator Roger Wicker (R)

U.S. Representatives

Rep. Alan Nunnelee (R - 01)
Rep. Bennie Thompson (D - 02)
Rep. Gregg Harper (R - 03)
Rep. Steven Palazzo (R - 04)

History of Mississippians in the Senate

The territory destined to become Mississippi was ceded to the United States by Spain in 1795. Congress admitted Mississippi as the twentieth State on December 10, 1817, and the first Senators, Walter Leake and Thomas Hill Williams, took their seats the following day.

Forty-five men have represented the "Magnolia State" in the Senate. Although 28 served less than a full six-year term, many gained influence through long service as spokesmen for the South or through exceptional oratorical and leadership skills. George Poindexter (1830-1835) was a brilliant orator and engaged in longstanding feuds with Daniel Webster and Andrew Jackson. Henry Stuart Foote (1847-1852) supported Henry Clay's Compromise of 1850 and served as chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee. Jefferson Davis ( 1847-1851; 1857-1861) was a leading defender of State rights during the sectional controversies leading up to the War between the States and served as President of the Confederacy. Hiram Revels (1870-1871) was the first African-American elected to the Senate, and Blanche K. Bruce (1875-1881) was the first African-American to serve a full term in the Senate. Lucius Q. C. Lamar (1877-1885) advocated reconciliation of the North and South after the War and became the only Mississippian to serve on the U.S. Supreme Court. James Z. George (1881-1897), known among his constituents as "the Great Commoner," played an important role in framing the Sherman Antitrust Act and worked for aid to education and civil service reform. John Sharp Williams (1911-1922) was the first U.S. Senator in the Nation to be elected by popular ballot. (He was first elected in 1911, after Mississippi had created a direct primary for U.S. Senate elections but before the Seventeenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution required it in 1913).

Pat Harrison (1919-1941), as Chairman of the Finance Committee in 1935, guided the Social Security Act to passage, establishing a national retirement pension system. Senator James O. Eastland (1941-1941; 1943-1978) served as chairman of the Judiciary Committee and was a strong advocate of States' rights, agriculture, and national security. John C. Stennis (1947-1989) served in the Senate for 41 years, the sixth longest tenure in Senate history. (Indeed, Senators Eastland and Stennis represented Mississippi concurrently in the Senate for 31 years, the longest period of simultaneous service of any State in the Union.) Senator Stennis not only served as chairman of the Committee on Armed Services and the Committee on Appropriations, he drafted the first formal code of ethics for the Senate and was selected to chair the forerunner of the present Select Committee on Ethics.

The two Mississippians honored with statues in the Capitol were both Senators: the statue of Jefferson Davis is in Statuary Hall, and the statue of James Z. George stands in the Capitol Visitor Center.

Mississippi's United Stated Senators

Walter Leake 1817-1820
Thomas Hill Williams 1817-1829
David Holmes 1820-1825
Powhattan Ellis 1825-1826
Thomas B. Reed 1826-1827
Powhattan Ellis 1827-1832
Thomas B. Reed 1829-1829
Robert H. Adams 1830-1830
George Poindexter 1830-1835
John Black 1832-1838
Robert J. Walker 1835-1845
James F. Trotter 1838-1838
Thomas Hickman Williams 1838-1839
John Henderson 1839-1845
Jesse Speight 1845-1847
Joseph W. Chalmers 1845-1847
Jefferson Davis 1847-1851
Henry Stuart Foote 1847-1852
John J. McRae 1851-1852
Stephen Adams 1852-1857
Walter Brooke 1852-1853
Albert G. Brown 1854-1861
Jefferson Davis 1857-1861
Adelbert Ames 1870-1874
Hiram R. Revels 1870-1871
James L. Alcorn 1871-1877
Henry R. Pease 1874-1875
Blanche K. Bruce 1875-1881
Lucius Q.C. Lamar 1877-1885
James Z. George 1881-1897
Edward C. Walthall 1885-1894
Anselm J. McLaurin 1894-1895
Edward C. Walthall 1895-1898
Hernando D. Money 1897-1911
William V. Sullivan 1898-1901
Anselm J. McLaurin 1901-1909
James Gordon 1909-1910
Le Roy Percy 1910-1913
John Sharp Williams 1911-1923
James K. Vardaman 1913-1919
Byron Patton Harrison 1919-1941
Hubert D. Stevens 1923-1935
Theodore G. Bilbo 1935-1947
James O. Eastland 1941-1941
Wall Doxey 1941-1943
James O. Eastland 1943-1978
John C. Stennis 1947-1989
Thad Cochran 1978--
Trent Lott 1989-2007
Roger Wicker 2007--
Jackson Office
190 East Capitol St.
Suite 550
Jackson, Mississippi 39201
Phone: (601) 965-4459
Washington Office
United States Senate
113 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510-2402
Phone: (202) 224-5054
Oxford Office
U.S. Federal Courthouse
911 East Jackson Avenue
Suite 249
Oxford, Mississippi 38655
Phone: (662) 236-1018
Gulf Coast Office
2012 15th Street
Suite 451
Gulfport, Mississippi 39501
Phone: (228) 867-9710